Some College Resources

It’s been awhile since I updated SK…I’m sorry!  It’s partly due to writer’s block and partly due to business.  Yesterday I got my orientation booklet for college (I leave August 22) and so today I’ve spent some time shopping around for dorm stuff.  It’s fun and exciting but also sad to think of leaving home.  I love the idea of a new adventure and a new chapter in my life, but I’ll miss seeing my family and friends everyday, and waking up every morning in this beautiful valley.  LA is a far cry from home.  Maybe some of you are on the same page; you’re just about to start college in the fall and whenever anyone asks you how you feel about that about a half dozen different adjectives come to mind.  Scared, happy, thrilled, terrified, nervous…what’s the word that describes that feeling?  Someone should invent one.  And if they do, I bet they’ll be an incoming college freshman.

Anyway, instead of be writing about a topic I have no experience in (college), I’ll let other people do that for me.  Here are just a couple of my favorite resources so far. 

First, I really like the College Fashion blog, because the author, Zephyr, is a real been-there-done-that college girl who understands the limitations of a student’s time and budget.  So her articles feel like advice from an older college friend, whether she’s talking about how to decorate your dorm room or wardrobe essentials for college girls.  Since her blog isn’t written from a specifically Christian viewpoint, Christian girls might not want to follow all of her advice.  Still there’s a lot of helpful stuff here for college-bound students.

There are tons of websites out there that sell stuff for residence halls, but so far my favorite is Moxii.  Their pieces are very classic and simplistic; no goofy Hawaiian flowers or big, loud prints that you’re bound to get sick of fast.  I seriously can’t get enough of how pretty their dorm bedding is!  It’s a little pricier than other dorm stores but if you have some extra grad cash and are willing to splurge, check it out.

Another site I like is Pottery Barn Teen, the dorm room section.  They have lots of high-quality lights, wastebaskets, and other practical stuff for dorms, but again, they’re a little on the pricey side.  If you’re on more of a budget, Residence Hall Linens offers easy, no-brainer dorm sets that include (depending on the set you buy) sheets, pillows, pillowcases, a comforter and fleece throw, towels and washcloths, laundry hamper, and more, all in one simple set in whatever color you like, for a reasonable price.  The site also carries sewing kits, tool kits, first aid kits, laptop locks, clip-on fans and lights, hanging shoe and garment organizers, and many other useful items.

Bed Bath & Beyond offers a College Insider site with plenty of practical information to get you started.  As does FastWeb, a free scholarship searching website (all high schoolers should check it out!!).  You have to be a member to read their articles, though (you should be anyway!  FastWeb is truly a great resource).

So those are a few of my favorites so far.  If you have one I’ve missed, share in the comment section or by email (sisterskeepers@gmail.com).  Thanks!

One Response

  1. Over the door shoe organizers are an excellent place to start when it comes to saving space with shoe organization. These products made of are simple sheets of fabric with pouches that hang over your door and store anywhere from ten to thirty pair of shoes, depending on the model. The over door shoe organizer is a nicer version of this simple product. Rather than just simple pouches, it has plastic compartments that keep the shoes safe from dust, dirt and moisture. This particular model can hold up to thirty pairs of shoes easily on almost any door in your home.

Leave a comment