Show me how far the east is from the west…

I know You’ve cast my sins as far
As the East is from the West
And I stand before You now
As though I’ve never sinned, but today
I feel like I’m just one mistake away
From You leaving me this way.

Why, Lord?  Why do you put up with me?  My miserable failings and hardened heart?  I long to be close to You and I long to love You as You love me and I long to worship You as You deserve.  And yet I am so distracted, so self-centered.  I want to hunger and thirst for You, and yet I am so callused, so disinterested.  How it must break Your heart.  I sin over and over and over again.  I fall, I fail, I turn away, I stumble.  I curse, I cry, I am angry towards the One who loves me.  How do You keep holding me?  How do You keep loving me?  Why don’t You give up on me?

I know You’ve washed me white
Turned my darkness into light
I need Your peace to get me through
To get me through this night
I can’t live by what I feel
But by the truth Your Word reveals
I’m not holding on to You
But You’re holding on to me
You’re holding on to me

Is it true that nothing I do keeps me?  Is it true that You could not love me any more, and will not love me any less?  You promise me that no one will snatch me from Your hand (John 10:29), and I guess that includes me.  Even I don’t have the power to pull myself away; no matter what I do, You will find me, You will draw me back.  Because You are faithful, because You are good.  I’m overwhelmed by my sin; You remind me of the cross.  Paid in full, You whisper to my soul, and I am washed with peace.

Jesus, can you show me
Just how far the East is from the West
Cause I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been
Come rising up in me again
In the arms of your mercy I find rest
Cause you know just how far the East is from the West
From one scarred hand to the other.

Remind me, Jesus.  Remind me of the cross I beg You, Savior.  Show me that the pain and suffering You went through was not for nothing.  Show me that the blood You shed was not in vain.  It washed me clean.  I stand before Holy God on Your merits, as though I never sinned.  My sins are seperated, as far away as the east is from the west.  They are on the bottom of the sea, stricken from Your book, no longer charged against me.  I am free.  And it has nothing to do with me…it has everything to do with You.  You, and Your scarred hands.

 

-Lyrics from “East to West” by Casting Crowns, The Altar and The Door

One Response

  1. love this song!!!

Leave a Reply

