I Can Only Imagine.

Years ago I had a friend named Travis. His little sister and my little sister were the best of buds, and so Travis and I saw a lot of each other.  His mom gave me rides to school.  He was just a grade above me.  I remember him as a kind, courteous, and respectful boy.

I remember when he got sick.

I didn’t understand what “leukemia” meant, but it sounded scary.  Travis grew thin and pale and I remember going to the hospital with him and his mom.  Something called “chemo” became a regular part of my friend’s life.  And we all prayed for Travis.  A lot.

Finally, his cancer went into remission.  Travis was OK again.  People were still scared for him, but after awhile, we all started to feel better.  To feel like maybe, after all, things were going to be alright.

And then the cancer came back.  After that, things happened really fast.  No one was ready on the day when Travis went home to be with the Lord.

I remember bits and pieces of his funeral.  Mostly I remember a song…MercyMe’s I Can Only Imagine.

Shortly before he died, Travis told his mom and dad that it was OK, he was going to be with Jesus.

I don’t know what it will be like when I get to Heaven…when I finally see my Lord face-to-face.  I can only imagine.

I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When your face
Is before me
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When that day comes
And I find myself
Standing in the Son

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

The other day, this song played over the radio, and I remembered Travis.

But Travis doesn’t have to imagine any more.

Leave a Reply

