Squeezing the Sponge

It’s not the hand that squeezes the sponge that creates the mess.  The filthy water was already there.  That pressing hand just created a reaction.

When someone drives my crazy and I react poorly, I tend to blame it on them.  “Yeah I know it was wrong, but she was being such a jerk!”  Or, “OK, I shouldn’t have done that.  But he is SO ANNOYING!!”

My dad used to say, when I called someone annoying, that maybe I’m too annoyable.  (No, it’s not a real word, but it should be!)

When someone irritates me, they’re not causing my bad response.  The dirty water was already there.  They’re just squeezing the sponge.

I can’t change others…I can only change myself.  I can change what comes out of my sponge when it’s squeezed.  It doesn’t have to be dirty dishwater.  The choice is mine.

Passages to remember when your sponge is squeezed:

“I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:12-13 ESV

“No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.” 1 Corinthians 10:13 ESV

Leave a Reply

