Keeping Christmas

untitled.png

 Awww!  This article makes me smile.  But it also makes me think.  Lanier Ivester reminds us all that Christmas is about more than a mad rush and a mountain of gifts.  It should be a season where we, like Mary, take time to “ponder these things in our hearts” (Luke 2:19).

I think this is so true.  I have often felt disappointed when December 25th was over; it’s such a dreadful anticlimax.  After days and weeks of planning and excitement and preparation; poof!  Suddenly it’s all over.  It shouldn’t have to be that way.  I think the Germans had the right idea with their 12 days of Christmas.  There is so much emotion and meaning attached to this season; more than can be stuffed into a single day.

At any rate, Lanier’s words encouraged me to be still and remember the meaning for the season.  To talk with my family about ways we can draw out the richness of Christmas over the next few days.  To just take time in this mad world.  To take time for my family and those I love, and to take time for Jesus Christ.  The baby in the manger…the Savior on the cross…the King of my heart…the returning Conqueror.

Merry Christmas, friends.  It’s not over.

Leave a Reply

