Do you love me, Lord?

 sunset.jpg

“Dear Lord,” I prayed, “Do you love me?”

“My child,” He said, “I painted the skies for you.  I made all the flowers in the world for you.  I rock you to sleep and protect you from harm.  I planned out your life lovingly even before I laid the foundations of the world.  I love you dearly, my child.”

“Yes, but Lord, how much do you love me?”

“I love you enough to forgive your countless sins, to be patient with your million failings, to lead you with love and tenderness.  I love you enough to bless you even when you ignore me.  I love you enough to give you gifts even when you credit yourself for them.  I love you enough to give my own Son for you…to watch Him die for your trespasses.  That is how much I love you.”

“But Lord…when do you love me?”

“I love you always, my child.  Before I hung the stars and long past their demise.  Throughout the ages.  Before you were born, long after you die.  I love you eternally.”

“Lord, where do you love me?”

“I love you when you cry, when you scream, when you complain, when you hate.  I love you when you loathe me.  I love you when you laugh, sing, hug, and love me back.  I love you in the valley of the shadow of death.  I love you on the highest mountaintops.  I love you everywhere.”

“Oh but Lord…does your love grow?”

“No.  It is constant throughout your many emotions and ups and downs, highs and lows.  My love is constant, steadfast, unchanging.  Your failings do not shrink my love.  Your accomplishments do not cause it to grow.  It cannot grow…I love you perfectly, completely, wholly.”

“Oh Lord!  One last question.  Why Lord?  Why do you love me?”

“Why do I love you?  Through no merit of yours, my child.  Why do I love you?  Because I wanted to.  Because I decided to.  Not because I needed to.  I love you because I love you.  I love you because I chose to love you.”

May you realize how much He loves you.

Leave a Reply

